The 2018 Winners of the Sydney Prize and the Dame Mary Gilmore Women in Engineering Scholarships

sidney prize

The Sydney Prize is an ongoing award that recognizes investigative journalism. Part of the Hillman Foundation, this honorable left-of-center institution awards monetary prizes to journalists and public service workers who show outstanding investigative efforts. Past winners have included Jane Mayer for her coverage on Dick Cheney; Bill Moyers and Kathleen Hughes’ report “Buying War”, as well as Spike Lee’s film about Hurricane Katrina. Each winner receives a $500 honorarium plus union-made wine plus an original certificate designed by New Yorker cartoonist Edward Sorel himself.

The National Association of Scholars offers many Sydney prizes each year, such as the Dame Mary Gilmore Women in Engineering Scholarship. This prize, named in honour of one of Dame Mary Gilmore’s many achievements promoting female engineering careers, offers four scholarship awards valued at $4,000.

Nazanin Boniadi received the 2018 Sydney Prize in recognition of her tireless work to raise awareness against human rights abuses and encourage others to help bring about change. Boniadi will use her prize money toward furthering her education and career; City of Sydney officials expressed their congratulations, noting her as an excellent role model for other women.

Boniadi is an Iranian journalist and human rights activist. She has been outspoken in her advocacy on human rights in Iran, acting as a voice for those whose voices have been silenced. Receiving The Sydney Prize gives Boniadi an incredible opportunity to expand her activism for improving human rights both locally and worldwide.

The Lucy Firth Honours Thesis Prize, established in 1997 to honour Professor Lucy Firth – an eminent Australian philosopher – is presented to any student submitting an outstanding honours thesis in Philosophy. This prize is supported by her bequest and funds it directly.

Sidney Perkowitz received the 2023 Andrew Gemant Prize during the American Institute of Physics’ annual conference in Washington DC. The award recognizes an individual who has significantly enhanced cultural, artistic and humanistic dimensions of physics through writing, research, lectures or other activities.

SHOT’s annual Edelstein Prize honors Dr Sidney Edelstein, an early pioneer in specialty chemical manufacturing who made significant contributions to SHOT’s history of science publishing program. Each year it honors an outstanding scholarly book in technology history published during the past three years – each winner receives a cash prize of $3500 as well as a plaque commemorating them.

The United States Studies Centre Sydney Prize is an institutional award designed to recognize and reward our top students who enrol in units at the USSC. Through rigorous analysis of American politics, foreign policy, culture and history, this prize deepens Australia’s understanding of America.